Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, I had the privilege of meeting/hanging out with Kendra from Catholic All Year. It was a really swell time, if I do say so myself. Fortunately or unfortunately, I didn’t take any super-stalker pictures to document this momentous occasion because I’m not a total creeper, okay?

Despite my refusal to obsessively chronicle the great meeting of the minds, I can tell you a few super-secret things about Kendra — y’know, to prove I’m not a liar:

  • She is even lovelier in person than she is online.
  • She is not as tall as I thought she was.*
  • She has the third nicest mother-in-law on the planet.**
  • She is not a catfish.

And there you have it, folks! All the super secrets of Catholic All Year. Aren’t you glad I got the scoop for you?

After we got done talking about why cry rooms are silly, pondering why Mormons have such great hair/crafting abilities and getting to the bottom of what people really mean when they ask about your procreation plans, Kendra told me something that made me stop in my tracks.

She thought I lived in Washington, D.C.

Which, since she mentioned it, made sense. Seeing how my header was, in fact, a picture of the Capitol building. I can see why there was some confusion. So I set out to fix it, because I definitely live in Chicago.

At first, I thought about holding off on taking a new picture until the next time I could get downtown but then I realized that it doesn’t make much sense for me to take a downtown picture when I live on the “extreme north side.” Sure, I could take a cute selfie by the Wrigley Building but that’s not what I normally see when I look at Chicago. So Bret and I traipsed around the ‘hood and looked for the most Chicago-y things we could find. Here are a few of the ‘also rans’:

Loyola's campus at night. Considered because I spend a lot of time meandering around there. Ultimately rejected because I'm not currently a Loyola student.

Loyola’s campus at night. Considered because I spend a lot of time meandering around there. Ultimately rejected because I’m not currently a Loyola student.

One of my favorite churches (if I can't make it to daily mass at my parish, I go to this one.)

One of my favorite churches (if I can’t make it to daily mass at my parish, I go to this one).

Looking towards Evanston. Rejected because I went to Michigan.

Looking towards Evanston. Rejected because I went to Michigan.

Nice lake but not the most Chicago-y shot.

Nice lake but not the most Chicago-y shot.

And here’s my new header:

BlogHeader

Isn’t it great? How much do you love it?

*Apparently, much like John Mulaney fears kidnapping because he perpetually views himself as a child, I think that everyone older and wiser than me must also be way taller than me.

**Mine is the first. My husband’s is the second.