Tags

,

008

When I was 10, I decided that I didn’t like pork chops. It was an informed decision – the only time I ever ate pork chops was when my dad made double cut, bone in pork chops on the grill. Sometimes, he even marinated these pork chops in Wishbone Italian Salad Dressing, which made for another horrifying layer of “flavor.” The general method my Dad employed for cooking the chops could be summarized as follows:

  • Take beautiful piece of porcine meat and throw it on the grill.
  • Cook until dead.
  • Resurrect the pig.
  • Punch pig in the face.
  • Kill it all over again until it resembles the flavor and texture of shoe leather.

Not tasty, my friends, not tasty at all.

I swore off pork chops for a long time until my husband’s grandmother taught me how she makes them. Now, I can eat tasty pork chops whenever I want, and so can you!

Pork Chops: A Labor of Love

This is another one of those “not particularly expedient” meal ideas. It does take some time to make a great pork chop which is why Grandma Pearl’s are so good and my Dad’s were so horrifying. However, if you’ve got three hours to mess around while your porcine meat chunks are chilling out in the oven, it is definitely worth the wait. (I get the chops going when I still have a few hours of work to do, so I never worry about the amount of time that it takes.)

You will need:

  • Pork chops.
  • 1 egg whisked with 1 tablespoon of water for every 4 or so chops.
  • A skillet with oil.
  • 1 bowl of breadcrumbs, seasoned however you like.
  • 1 oven-proof lidded casserole dish.

001

The method is pretty simple. You dip your pork chop into the egg mixture and then coat it in bread crumbs. Then, throw the chop into the skillet. A few minutes on each side will give you a golden brown, visually appealing pork chop.

002

Once both chops (or all 12 – you do you) are browned on the outside, you should put them in a lidded casserole dish. If you are only making two pork chops, you may want to add a few tablespoons of water.

003

Put the casserole dish in the oven at 325 degrees for at least two hours.

The resulting pork chops are juicy, meaty and cut with a fork.

Because I know how much you all enjoy pictures of the inside of my food.

Because I know how much you all enjoy pictures of the inside of my food.