Tags

, , , , ,

Today, I have the privilege of receiving an award that I didn’t even know existed. How cool is that? I’m an award winner, I tell you. Kendra at Catholic All Year has honored me with something called a Liebster Blog Award, which I gather is one of the most prestigious chain-letter based blog awards in the universe.

She had questions, I have answers! Read on!

1. Where do you live? And why do you live there?

Credit: Wikipedia Commons

I live in Chicago, Illinois. Specifically, I live on the “extreme north side” of the city. We moved here because I was over Nashville, and we thought that Chicago would have more lawyerly job opportunities. So far, that hasn’t exactly panned out, but I’m still optimistic.

2. What’s are you currently watching and/or reading?

Fun fact about me: I watch way too much TV. The good news is, so does my husband! We watch so much TV that we’ve had long discussions with our priest about the “right” way to continue watching TV so that it strengthens our marriage instead of turning us into vegetables.

Current Television Favorites:

Credit: ABC.go.com

  • Grey’s Anatomy (because I can’t quit it).
  • Scandal (because Shonda Rimes has found the magical formula to keep me interested).
  • The Black List (my mother and I have weekly recap phone calls – James Spader keeps families together, y’all).
  • The Following (I don’t have an excuse for this, I have poor taste in Kevin Bacon, I guess).
  • Criminal Minds (I enjoy being creeped out).
  • Chicagoland (because I live here).
  • Cosmos (because I didn’t know anything about astrophysics before I started watching).
  • Hell’s Kitchen (because Gordon Ramsay yelling at people gives me fond memories of middle school?)
  • The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, @Midnight (laughing is good for a marriage, I’ve heard).
  • And so much more!

Credit: Smartgirl.org

I know that know you’re all worried that my brains have turned into mush from over-consumption, but I assure you that I’m doing my absolute best to stay on top of my intellectual well-being. Currently, I’m reading:

3. What kind of Catholic are you: cradle, or convert? (Or considering?)

Cradle to Grave, yo.

4. Can you point to one moment or experience that made you a practicing Catholic? (Or want to be?)

It was definitely when I felt called to go to Mass (and actually went!) even though there were no parents/nuns/teachers around to force my attendance. More recently, I’ve felt called to be more vocal about my faith, thanks to joining a parish that has a real community element.

5. How many pairs of shoes do you own?

Too many. Maybe 30? Unfortunately, I don’t always buy the most practical footwear when I emotionally shoe shop.

Credit: Luckymag.tumblr.com

6. Are you a good dancer?

If we’re defining “good” as “dances like an awkward white girl,” then, heck yea. I’m the best dancer you’ve ever seen, baby.

Credit: Whitepeoplethings.tumblr.com

7. Who usually drives, you or your husband?

My husband. I know, I know, I keep promising to tell you all about how I’m a terrible driver. The truth is, I didn’t start driving until I was 22, so I’m a 19 year old on the road. I find it all very stressful, but my recent solo trip to the grocery store and a once-weekly driving date to the Aquinas Literacy Center has given me a lot more confidence.

8. What’s your favorite holiday and how do you celebrate it?

I’m one of those people that always has big plans and big expectations for how the holidays should go and then I end up suffering from malaise and disappointment. These days, I think my favorite holiday is the Fourth of July. We go Up North to visit my husband’s grandparents with the whole extended family and chill out on the lake. There’s booze! There’s questionably legal fireworks! There’s bonfires!

Plus, I usually get a day trip to Mackinac Island or something.

Also, sometimes I go to Ann Arbor and wonder what the sororities are doing.

Also, sometimes I go to Ann Arbor and wonder what the sororities are doing.

9. Which is correct? Left or right?

Left. This shouldn’t even be a question. People who employ the right-side method are incorrect.

10. Do you have any scars?

I have a lot of scars. When I worked in a college dining hall, I had a truly unfortunate habit of needing stitches all the time. If you’re really nice to me, I might even show you the pictures that catalog all my chemical burns from that job.

11. What’s the most famous thing you’ve ever done? 

Win this award?

No, that’s not true. In college, I was a really active tournament 9-Ball player, so I was feature in Pool and Billiard more than a handful of times. (Want to read the program for the first National Tournament I ever played in? It’s here.)

And now! Because I’m supposed to, I’ll pass the award on to some other excellent blogger folks like:

I want answers, darnit!