Tags

, ,

Credit: Wikipedia Commons

One of the things that makes me most anxious is going to the grocery store. Don’t get me wrong, a lot of things make me anxious, but going to the grocery store is the one anxiety-inducing activity that I’ve never quite forced myself to get over. Other sources of anxiety that I’ve eventually “gotten over” by forcing myself to do them anyway include:

  • Ringing doorbells
  • Making phone calls
  • Checking my email
  • Driving on city streets
  • Parallel parking

However, I just can’t get over the anxiety I feel when I think about going to the grocery store by myself. So I haven’t gone to the grocery store by myself in something like four years. Four years! That’s insane. I totally know it, too.

Credit: thebeaconmag.com

Interestingly enough, although I’ve done most of my grocery shopping with Bret or my mother in the past for years, it doesn’t have to be one of them for me to feel less terrified about the whole prospect. I’ve had some super successful grocery shopping adventures with kids I babysit, but being alone in the grocery store with only my list and my cart the keep me company fills me with so much terror that I’ve completely avoided doing it for the past four years.

That needs to change.

You see, my husband will have a job soon – entry-level legal work means long hours and high stress – and he won’t be around to take me to the store. That means, that I have to get used to going to the store by myself. I’ll take my list and I’ll get a cart and I’ll do the shopping, even if it takes me twice as long as I should.

So today, I’m going to do it.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

 

