Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s that time of year again, folks! Time for us all to take a good long look at our lives and resolve to make a bunch of changes. Two weeks from now, I imagine that a bunch of people will be resolving to quit their resolutions and continue living life as they always have. So that’s good.

Truth be told — the time I gave up biting my nails in the third grade aside — I’ve never been huge on New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t particularly understand the drive to drop a bunch of money on a gym contract on January 1st (that you’ll more than likely stop using by March) and most efforts to massively overhaul my diet are met with failure and a loaf of white bread.

So I’m not going to make any New Year’s Resolutions this year.

Someone get me my ladder.

Instead, I’m going to spend 2015 focusing on being intentional.* Too often in the past year, I’ve noticed myself doing things completely without intention. For example, last night, instead of finishing my reading for Christian Origins, I watched an entire House marathon. Sure, I really enjoy House and it was a relaxing evening, but it probably wasn’t the best use of my time.

9 hours of my life that I’m not getting back.

This year, instead of letting all my free time get away from me, eating bread by the loaf and spending my days wearing leggings and hand-me-down sweaters from my dad (and whatever else I’ve been doing unintentionally for so long) I’d like to put a little more thought into things:

  • Keep up the recycling and general environmental stewardship around the house.
  • Dress like a grown-up. So people will look at me like I’m a grown-up and not an unusually tall 5th grader.
  • Pay more attention to how I spend my time. I function better with a schedule, so I schedule I shall have.
  • And so on.
  • And so on.
  • And scooby dooby dooby.

In case you didn’t get the reference.

What have you resolved to do this year? Do you have a theme word?

*I may or may not have stolen the idea to have a “word of the year” from Emily at Raising Barnes.

