Tags

, , , , ,

Hi All! Cat is a good blog friend of mine (and an actual legit friend of the family) who offered to cook some Eastern European food for us while I’m gone. Enjoy!

I am honored to have been invited by Elizabeth to write a guest post for her blog. As she is out traveling some of the best places in Eastern Europe, I can’t help but think about my trip out to that area of the world. While we were in Budapest, my “pseudo” family, the Henderson, and I enjoyed taking a cooking class with chefparade and we brought back several traditional recipes and a butt load of great memories. As Elizabeth is getting to see the wonderful city/cities, I thought it would be a perfect recipe to share with y’all.

Tejfolos Gombapaprikas is sort of like a Beef Stroganoff dish where there are noodles or dumplings as a bed for a creamy sauce with vegetables (and sometimes meat or poultry). I assume it is a comfort food in Hungry, much like Macaroni and Cheese in America. I like to make a few changes to the original recipe to fit with my pantry, so I don’t buy a bunch of things I don’t normally/won’t use for any other recipe.

With out further ado, here is the recipe…

Not much to look at, but tasty and filling.

Not much to look at, but tasty and filling.

Tejfolos Gombapaprikas (Creamy Mushroom Paprikash) Recipe
Serves 6 people

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of sunflower oil <Sub extra virgin olive oil>
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 pound of mushrooms
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped <Sub 1 can diced >
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1 TV paprika, chopped <Sub 3 mini sweet peppers, or, as in my case, caramelize a green bell pepper>
  • 1 tablespoon sweet paprika powder
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 handful of fresh parsley chopped
  • Egg noodles or shell noodles

Preparation

  • Clean onions and mushrooms.
  • Chop onions, tomatoes, and pepper as finely as possible. Chop mushrooms in fourths.
  • Using a large pan heat 1/2 cup of oil.
  • Add onions to oil, salt lightly to sweat and soften and stir fry for 3-4 minutes.
  • Take pan off heat and stir in sweet paprika powder well.
  • Return to heat and add TV paprika (sweet pepper) and tomato. Stew for 7 – 10 minutes until saucy.
  • Add mushrooms and season to taste with salt, pepper, and additional sweet paprika powder.
  • Cook until mushrooms and soft and juicy
  • In a separate bowl, combine sour cream and 1.5 tablespoons of flour.
  • Add about 1/2 cup of juices from the heated mixture into sour cream mixture while stirring constantly. <You want to do this so you don’t shock the sour cream and make it curdle, thus ruining the dish.>
  • Mix well and pour all of sour cream mixture into heated mixture.
  • Bring to a simmer once more adding parsley.
  • Let thicken and serve over egg noodles or shell noodles.

<This recipe can be easily altered to Chicken Paprikash by substituting 8 oz of the mushrooms with cubed chicken breast and cooking it with the onion in the oil.>

Since there were no sweet peppers at my grocery store, I carmelized a green bell pepper.

Since there were no sweet peppers at my grocery store, I carmelized a green bell pepper.

I recently ran out of my sweet paprika, so I use what I had left of my spicy paprika from my trip!

I recently ran out of my sweet paprika, so I use what I had left of my spicy paprika from my trip!

Just look at that medley of vegetables and delicious!

Just look at that medley of vegetables and delicious!

Sour Cream = Rich mouthfuls of great texture

Sour Cream = Rich mouthfuls of great texture

Table is set. Pair with a crisp white or light bodied red.

Table is set. Pair with a crisp white or light bodied red.

I hope y’all enjoyed this little slice of Eastern Europe. If you like cooking, breakfast foods, cosplays, and crafting, you should pop by My Pinterest Board: Live.

