Tags

, , , , , , ,

This weekend, motivated by all the wardrobe encapsulation chit chat as well as my need to pack large amounts of clothing, I got caught up in a vortex of closet cleaning and reorganization. Although I’m still refusing to make a set capsule, I did put a bunch of stuff in bags for Goodwill and my drawers and shelves seem much more manageable and less cluttered.

Now, I need to work on the closet itself. Fortunately or unfortunately, I have a lot of business attire that I have trouble getting rid of. I feel like a lot of my professional life is still “in flux” right now and I don’t want to pitch a bunch of things, only to have to buy all new clothes in two years. Perhaps I’ll apply the same rules that I used for the rest of my stuff:

  • If it doesn’t fit, it doesn’t stay.
  • If I don’t like wearing it, it doesn’t stay.
  • If it’s needed repairs for more than 6 months, it definitely doesn’t stay.

Two trash bags full met this criteria — which is sort of gross, when you think about it. I’m hoping that, as winter wears on, I’ll get a better idea of what in my closet I can get rid of.

Moving on, here’s what I wore Sunday:

Here's an outerwear shot. We were all waiting to see Nik Wallenda walk over the Chicago River.

Here’s an outerwear shot. We were all waiting to see Nik Wallenda walk over the Chicago River.

Sequins, dots and very little actual effort. Hip hip hooray!

Sequins, dots and very little actual effort. Hip hip hooray!

To see what everyone else wore, head on over to Fine Linen and Purple.

