Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What book is this?

AKA "Meals for People who Hate Doing Dishes"

AKA “Meals for People who Hate Doing Dishes”

This is Better Homes and Gardens Easy Skillet Meals. Published in 1972, this book appears to be part of a whole series of cookbooks put out by the company. I was initially attracted to this particular cookbook because I have a skillet and one pot meals are hyper appealing to me right now.

You gotta educate yourself before you get on the skillet cooking band wagon.

You gotta educate yourself before you get on the skillet cooking band wagon.

Where did you acquire this fabulous cookbook?

Aquinas got a book donation. There were so many books that we didn’t quite have enough room to house them all — so I got to take a bunch home. A little part of me ought to feel guilty for depriving our students of such a great book, but I really don’t.

Another fun bonus: recipes that have been deemed especially thrifty come with a green stamp of approval.

Another fun bonus: recipes that have been deemed especially thrifty come with a green stamp of approval.

What’s the best part of this cookbook?

I had no idea that Midwestistan and the Mountains were so culturally similar. I'll have to take it up with my Berkeley cohort.

I had no idea that Midwestistan and the Mountains were so culturally similar. I’ll have to take it up with my Berkeley cohort.

There’s a lot to love about this book. First, there’s the whole premise of the thing — easy meals that you can cook in a single skillet. To make it even more awesome, the book is broken down into sections for region, meal and occasion. (Side note: Isn’t it great to step back in time to see what other decades viewed as “regional” food?!) Also, the food in this book is the food that we eat. I know that lots of people have eschewed cream of crap in favor of clean eating and paleo, but in this house, we’re still be fans of white bread, white rice and things wrapped in bacon.

Doesn't this picture just make you want to go camping in a forest with an outdoorsman like JPII?

Doesn’t this picture just make you want to go camping in a forest with an outdoorsman like JPII?

Plus, you know, pictures. There are pictures.

Can you actually use this book?

Yes. It’s a no-brainer. I can’t even make an disclaimers. I’m going to be using this book until I die or Bret has a heart attack.

...But I probably won't be making this. Because it looks a little sketch.

…But I probably won’t be making this. Because it looks a little sketch.

