Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last week, a lady named Alex from Weddington Way asked me to engage in a fun little blog challenge. Here’s what she asked me to do:

The challenge is this: If you were the Maid of Honor and the bride asked you to help her style the look for her big day, what would you suggest? You can include color and accent color recommendations, hair ideas, makeup looks, jewelry, clutch/purses, shoes, etc!

At first, I thought it was hysterical because I don’t really think of myself as a fashion-y type lady. In fact — and you could poll any of my bridesmaids about this — I left most of the critical “style” decisions for my wedding to my mother and my own bridesmaids. To me, the most important thing about my wedding (other than, you know, the actual marriage) was that everyone was comfortable and felt happy.

So you know, I didn’t quite understand why I would be asked to do this.

Then I thought about it a little bit more and it does sort of make sense. I didn’t have a lot of critical opinions about my bridesmaids’ styling for my wedding, so it seems perfectly logical that a future bride would also hand off the decision-making to her matron of honor.

Since I’m that imaginary matron of honor, it looks like I’ve got some imaginary decisions to make.

First, the dress.

Dress

I chose a dress that seemed appropriate for a fall or winter wedding. The color seemed fun but also flattering for a variety of skin tones. I also really like the neckline and pleating. (I’m a little biased though, I absolutely loathe strapless dresses.)

The Accessories and Accent Colors

I very strongly believe that the only responsibility one has as a bridesmaid is to show up clean, sober and wearing the correct dress, so I’m less-than-comfortable demanding that the bridesmaids accessorize with anything other than a smile.

However, if I were hard-pressed to offer my opinion, here’s what I would suggest for flowers:

White flowers with green accents for the bridesmaids. Since it’s fall or winter in this fantasy wedding of my imagination, the white would help keep things seasonally appropriate.

For a jacket/cover up:

Most people would go with a shawl or fancy scarf, but since it’s an imaginary winter wedding, I think a formal black swing coat would look really slick. Plus, it would contrast well with the flowers and dress for photos.

For shoes:

I chose these because I like heels like this. And if I’m the matron of honor, I’m not going to suggest a pair of shoes that people can’t wear again.

The Important Stuff

Now that we’ve covered all the fun fashion-y stuff, let’s get down to brass tacks. If I were the matron of honor for a friend, I’d have a lot of advice about things that weren’t shoes and centerpieces. Here we go:

  • It’s not about the wedding. It’s really, really, really not. It’s fun to plan a ceremony and a fun party, but you should really be using your engagement to prepare for your marriage.
  • Take advantage of whatever pre-marriage prep is available at your church/parish/synagogue/house of worship/sundial emporium. It might seem hokey (it is, a little), but it’s definitely worth it.
  • As a general rule, weddings will bring out weirdness that you didn’t even know existed from your friends and family. People will call you with strange pronouncements about whether or not their significant other thinks coming to the ceremony is a good idea. You will discover that family members are passionate about the presence of a head table. The guest list will cause strife and anxiety. Let it all roll off your back — like a duck or something — because it doesn’t matter in the long run.
  • Every wedding vendor you meet will gush about how it’s “your special day.” Don’t let it go to your head.
  • You don’t need a unity candle.
  • You don’t need a sand ceremony.
  • You don’t need a peanut butter and jelly sandwich ceremony.
  • You don’t need a unity candle.
  • You don’t need a unity candle.

What advice to you have for future brides? Also, what do you think of my sick fashion skills?

