Tags

, , ,

My fellow residents of the world, I have a confession to make. We haven’t been very good about recycling. To rationalize, we’ve had a few years of living in places where recycling was actually difficult (think: if you want to recycle you have to haul your own recyclables and pay extra for it), but I know that that’s not a valid excuse.

We should have been recycling but haven’t and now we need to make it right.

Greener Pastures

We are not “crunchy” people, friends. We do not use essential oils, compost or raise chickens in our backyard. However, we do try to be as environmentally friendly as possible — while also saving money. Yes, going green to save some green is a thing that works.

Happy little trees.

Here are a few of the ways that we’ve been consistently pretty environmentally sound for the past several years:

  • Repairing clothes instead of replacing them.
  • Using dish towels instead of paper towel for most cleaning and wiping.
  • There are no paper plates or cups anywhere in this house.
  • Most clothing is worn more than once before it’s washed.
  • We limit the amount of time that we run the heating or air conditioning.*
  • I do a lot of cleaning with baking soda and vinegar.**

Still, we haven’t been recycling and now we are.

Reversion to Recycling

We picked up recycling again for a number of reasons:

  • Our building finally got a recycling dumpster, which means that we won’t have to haul it away to somewhere else.
  • I found a list of all the animals that have gone extinct in the past 100 years. It made me really sad.
  • I’ve done a lot of thinking/reading about environmental stewardship.

God has given us a beautiful planet to live on and I don’t want to be the type of person that takes that gift for granted. As a Catholic, I feel responsible for doing my part to make sure that I leave planet in the best possible shape for our children and theirs.

Here's our current recycling set up. We need some bins, right?

Here’s our current recycling set up. We need some bins, right?

So we’ll be recycling from here on out. Because God likes it that way.

Jesus recycles, clearly.

*Seriously, it’s 44 degrees outside and I have a window open because I like the fresh air.

**Less money and it makes the house smell like pickles? I call that a win!

