Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We’ve already been over terrible reasons to work from home, but did you know that there are good reasons to work from home, too? In fact, there are a few great reasons to work from home. Here are 5 of them:

  • You like to (or have to) travel frequently.

One of the greatest things about working from home is the fact that I can travel when and where I want. We’re very lucky to have 4 living (and healthy!) grandparents between the two of us and I’ve been able to spend plenty of time with them because I can work from anywhere.

This is my car every summer.

Plus, you know, Eastern Europe. I doubt I’d be able to spend two weeks bouncing around Poland and its neighbors if I worked in a “normal” office.

  • You have other commitments on your time that make “regular working hours” difficult or unpleasant.

See Also: You find the idea of regular working hours unnecessarily constraining.

You may call me Dolly.

I like to do lots of different stuff and I prefer to do them while the sun is still out. Working from home means that I get to set my own hours to accommodate volunteering, random acts of athletic prowess, laundry and napping.

  • You thrive on a “better to ask forgiveness than permission” model of decision making.

If you’re the type of person that needs detailed instructions for every task that you perform and want to talk over any decision that you make with your supervisor, working from home may not be for you. I don’t mind making decisions, in fact, I rather enjoy it.

What does the duck have to do with it? I have no idea!

Working from home works well for me because I can make whatever decision I want to make and inform the appropriate parties later. The flipside of this is that I also have to deal with all the consequences of my decision making. That’s okay, though. I can handle the consequences of my actions.

  • You’re self-motivated and results-oriented.

If you have trouble motivating yourself to get work done, you may not want to throw yourself into working from home. I’m pretty good at self-motivation because I’m a results-oriented person. At the end of the day, I’m all about working smart, not hard and working from home allows me to do that.

This dude’s my mentor.

Think of it this way: If I finish my work for the day, I can just leave. I couldn’t do that if I worked in a traditional office.

  • You hate business professional clothing.

Embrace the denim and knitwear, people! It’s fabulous!

