Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Oh look! It’s another food post! Aren’t you thrilled? The fact of the matter is that – no matter what else is going on – I have to eat some time. I don’t have much to talk about today (unless you want to hear all about my exciting trip to the Meijer in Highland, Indiana) but I can tell you what I made for dinner last night.

Baked Spaghetti – More Catholic Prison Food

To begin, I should probably start this off with the disclaimer that I never ate baked spaghetti growing up. Our spaghetti was always angel hair pasta, a jar of marinara and a few meatballs. I enjoyed everything but the angel hair and my brother hated everything but the angel hair*, so I’m sure that we can confidently say that we did our part to keep the family grocery budget under control.

Still, once I got to college, I discovered that there were plenty of people who ate baked spaghetti back home. The first time I tried it, I was pretty skeptical. I mean, it is pretty gross looking. Eventually, baked spaghetti won me over. It’s easy, you can make it the night before and it’s really pretty cheap.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 pound of ground beef (or turkey, if you’re beef-avoidant)
  • 1/2 pound of spaghetti noodles
  • 1 onion
  • 1 jar of pasta sauce
  • 1/2 bag of shredded mozzarella (fancy, natch)
  • 1 pint of frozen sliced mushrooms

I also thought about adding some broccoli but I don’t want Bret to divorce me, so I left that out.

How to make it:

  • Cook your noodles according to the instructions on the package.
  • Brown the ground beef with the onion and mushrooms.
  • Drain the grease from the meat and combine everything together in a bowl.
  • Put the spaghetti in a lidded casserole dish, bake at 350 for one hour.
  • Try not to think too much about how utterly unappetizing your dinner looks.

003

Really though, once you wrap your head around the fact that it’s ugly, it doesn’t taste all that bad.

 

