Tags

1. Do you hate happy clappy church music?

Credit: Rehabs.com

I grew up in parishes that were extremely pro-happy clappy church music. As a kid, I was all about it. I enjoyed both the happy and the clappy and it made me more excited to be involved with the mass. Still, I’ve been to a few parishes that took it too far.

“Lamb of God” sung to the tune of a Nigerian folk song? Rockin’. (That was at my international parish in Seoul, and it was like, 40% Nigerian.) All the liturgical dancing that I was required to do in 8th grade? Ugh. (I think I’m going to write a post called “I was a reluctant liturgical dancer,” what do you think?)

These days, my parish is devoid of music that could be defined as happy or clappy and most days I’m completely fine with that – although sometimes I do wish that they could play something a little bit faster.

2. What is your priority: eating or sleeping?

I will always choose sleeping in a battle between almost anything and sleeping. This is probably due to the fact that when I’m really stressed out, I can’t eat or sleep.

3. What type of milk do you drink in your house?

I don’t drink milk unless there’s Kahlua in it – in which case I prefer 2%. My husband eats cereal with milk and he tells me that he also prefers 2%, so there you are.

4. What is a book that changed your perspective on something?

Slowly but surely making my way through Theology of the Body for Beginners has changed my perspective on a lot of things.

5. Who is your favorite saint?

This is Saint Elizabeth of Hungary. I like her because my name is Elizabeth and I am one quarter Hungarian.

6. Introvert or extrovert?

I’m actually an introvert, although a lot of people don’t think that I am since I get along well with people and am friendly when I hang out in a group. However, as much as I enjoy hanging out, I need a lot of “down time” afterwards to feel like a human being again.

Moving on, here’s What I Wore Sunday:

028

We need to work on the camera angle here. I look like I’m in one of those funhouse mirrors.

The skirt is New York and Company from approximately 20 years ago (does that make it vintage?). Everything else probably came from the Gap, Target or Nordstrom Rack.

What I Wore Sunday is a link up hosted by Fine Linen and Purple. You can check out what all the other lady-folks wore to church this weekend here.

Answer Me This is a link up hosted by Kendra Tierney at Catholic All Year. If you want to read the other answers, mosey on over there.

