1. What time do you prefer to go to Mass?

I used to be a morning Mass person. It just didn’t seem like a Sunday unless I got up and went to church first thing. These days, I often have work to catch up on in the morning or I’d rather sleep in (and recover) so we go to the 5 o’clock Sunday night mass. As an added bonus, most of our friends go then so it’s like a party.

2. Would you rather be too hot or too cold?

This is me.

Let me put it this way: when we were choosing a place to move after our Nashville Experiment I told Bret to “take me to a place with nuclear winter.”

3. How many brothers and/or sisters do you have?

Just one. He’s pretty awesome though.

Credit: Robyn Rachel Photography.

Credit: Robyn Rachel Photography.

4. If you were faced with a boggart, what would it turn into?

At this particular moment in my life, I think a boggart would turn into a never-ending library of spreadsheets – none of which format or calculate correctly.

5. Barbie: thumbs up or thumbs down?

Is “thumbs ambivalent” an option? I know that I had Barbies when I was growing up, but I also know that they weren’t my favorite. (I was an American Girl Doll and Beanie Baby-type child.) However, I don’t think Barbie does any major harm to anyone – although she could certainly be a little more inclusive.*

*Major disclaimer: I don’t have daughters. If I did, I might have a stronger opinion on this. When I do, God willing, I might develop a whole bushel of Barbie thoughts.

6. If someone asked you to give them a random piece of advice, what would you say?

I am a metaphorical fountain of random advice. For example, back in my college days, the best piece of truly random advice that I had for people was “Don’t touch the soap.” (To make a long story short, it was a strong base and it burned.) I’m also a big fan of “Don’t go down the stairs.” However, that only works if you’re talking to someone in a horror movie.

These days, I like to tell people who are engaged or just married to “Forget that the word ‘divorce’ exists.” I know so many people who throw down the word “divorce” in routine arguments and then wonder why their relationship isn’t where they want it to be. I think if you completely remove it from your vocabulary, you stand a better chance at building a successful life together.

Moving on, here’s What I Wore Sunday:

In hindsight, really should have unbuttoned the sweater.

In hindsight, really should have unbuttoned the sweater.

Answer Me This is a link-up hosted by Catholic All Year, you can check out all the other answers here.

What I Wore Sunday is a link-up hosted by Fine Linen and Purple. You can go admire a bunch of talented ladies in their Sunday finery over here.

