Credit: Sociallyclean.com

One of my favorite things to talk about it all the radical misconceptions that people seem to have about the work-from-home set. As we’ve discussed in the past, people think a ton of weird things about how great my working set up must be. Most days, it is pretty wonderful – just for the record. However, the fact that I thoroughly enjoy what I do doesn’t mean that I’m okay with indulging all the random prejudices people have.

Case in point? The state of my house.

Lotsof people seem to think that my being “home all day” means that my house must be spotless. After all, I have all the time in the world to stay on top of dishes and dusting. Alas, nothing could be further from the truth. As embarrassed as I am to admit it, my house was way cleaner when I worked outside the home.

I Googled “the way things used to be” and this is what I got. You’re welcome.

The Way Things Used to Be

Once upon a time, I had a job outside of my house that required my regular attendance from 7:30 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday. Although I wasn’t a huge fan of the work I was doing, I did enjoy my coworkers and the fact that I got to get out of the house and explore every day.

As much as I loved my out-of-doors adventures, I really liked being at home. Home, you see, was the one place where I didn’t have to be “on” all the time and I treasured my time there accordingly. Ultimately, this meant that I kept the place pretty spotless – and it was easy to do it.

Got a few minutes before I leave for work? Time to wipe down the kitchen counter tops and make sure that the dishes are done.

Two hours until bed time? I’ve been meaning to tidy up the office.

Headed to the gym? I may as well throw in some laundry.

I liked my house and I liked it more when it was clean, so it was always clean.

Credit: HGTV.com

Working from Home Ruined my Housekeeping Skills

Some people think that I must have all the time in the world to keep my house clean. If only that were true! Unfortunately, the more time I spend in my house, the less time I have to keep it clean. It’s terrible. Once upon a time, I used to use those chunks of spare time to pick up the joint; now, I use the same parcels of time to get ahead on the work load.

When you work inside your house, it loses that whole “sanctuary” element.

Looking around my house right now, I am not thrilled with how it looks. It’s dusty, there’s paperwork everywhere and piles of stuff that belongs elsewhere are beginning to take over every available horizontal surface, including the floor. Entropy is taking over and I don’t like it one bit.

Crawling Out of the Dust

I’ve finally hit the wall where I’m starting to disgust myself with how disorganized and messy my house is. Starting today, I’m going to pull myself out of the dusty depths of my despair – one small task at a time. I figure that, instead of waiting until Saturday to start a massive marathon of cleaning, I should focus on small tasks that take less than five minutes to do.

Credit: Georgetowncustomhomes.com

The next time there’s free time I can:

  • Dust the room I’m sitting in
  • Wipe down a bathroom counter top
  • Clean a toilet
  • Fill my arms with stuff that needs to go to another room
  • Actually put that stuff away
  • Swiffer the floor
  • Fold the couch blankets
  • Grab 5 books for the library donation bin off of the bookshelf
  • And so much more!

How’s your house looking these days? Do you have any quick tasks that you recommend I start doing to keep the dust and stuff at bay?

