Tags

, , ,

So far, I’ve been stridently avoiding “poking the bear” on the issue of Neil deGrasse Tyson’s reboot of Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey. Despite the fact that I’m enjoying it – and am learning a ton – I know that some very smart men and women have taken umbrage at the shows depictions of the relationship between the Catholic church and science.

Credit: Wikipedia

What’s all the fuss about?

If you Google “Catholic Cosmos”, you’ll get a pretty good sample of what people are saying. For example, the Catholic League’s Bill Donohue really really doesn’t like Seth MacFarlane and most people can agree that the show was a little ham-fisted in its treatment of Giordano Bruno. However, I’ve still been tuning in, week after week, to learn more about the universe.

How did I get sucked in?

I’ve stuck with Cosmos for a few reasons:

Credit: National Geographic

  1. It’s a really pretty TV show. What can I say? I’m a sucker for shiny and pretty TV. Cosmos clearly had an enormous budget and used it wisely.
  2. I’ve learned more about random stuff I never even knew that I wanted to know about from the show. For example, I didn’t know what a quantum leap was until last night. Did I know that I wanted to know about quantum leaps before last night? Absolutely not.
  3. I like Neil deGrasse Tyson. I can’t help it. He’s funny and has a pleasant voice.
  4. As someone who never took a physics class and never really excelled in science, understanding what goes on out in space wasn’t on my radar before. Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey has shown me that the universe is so much bigger and grander than I ever knew or thought.
  5. At the risk of sounding completely silly, watching Cosmos has reaffirmed my faith in the power of God. Who else could have created such a vast and beautiful universe?

Are you watching Cosmos? What do you think?

Here’s What I Wore Sunday:

002

Sorry about the awkward arms and terrible lighting. I forgot to make ask my husband to take a good picture while the sun was still out. My mother says I looked like “someone clopping around 1940s Britain, but in a good way.”

Not sure what I think about that.

What I Wore Sunday is a link-up hosted by the fine folks at Fine Linen and Purple. You can check out what other people wore Sunday here.

