Tags

,

Credit: Fisheaters.com

Yesterday was Laetare Sunday. Although Lent is certainly an ongoing process, the fourth Sunday seems like as good of a time as any to evaluate how I’ve been doing with my Lenten offerings.

The Successes

This year, I’ve done particularly well at making practical changes to benefit our financial life/well-being/future. For example, the Great Paper Towel Experiment of 2014 is going well on all fronts. Even my husband was impressed by how much longer a roll of paper towels is lasting around these parts. My spending fast is also going well. Fun fact: I used to buy a lot of random stuff on iTunes. You never realize how much money you fritter away on $1.29 song purchases until you, you know, stop doing that.

The Challenges

Although my practical goals and offerings are going really well, I still feel like I’m not doing my best at my spiritual offerings. Sure, I’ve said my weekly rosary, but it’s usually rushed and/or on the elliptical. While the lazy part of my psyche says that I should be content with making the effort, the perfectionist in me says that I’m not doing well enough. Moving forward, I’m going to make an effort to focus on the meaning of the prayer instead of just trying to get it over with as quickly as possible.

Making the Most of What’s Left of Lent

As we keep chugging along towards Easter, it’s important (to me, personally, not necessarily in general) that I stay focused on being the best person that I can possibly be. There are only three weeks left until Easter, so now is as good a time as any to buckle down and reflect, right?

How’s your Lent going?

